array(3) { ["geoplugin_countryCode"]=> string(2) "US" ["geoplugin_countryName"]=> string(13) "United States" ["geoplugin_currencyCode"]=> string(3) "USD" }
Contact us


You can call us to discuss any questions you have.

Send Message

E-mail us with comments, questions or feedback.

Three Types of Hajj: Al-Ifrad, Al-Tamatt’u, Al-Qiran

Written By -

Dhu Al-Hijjah month is coming with its spiritual fragrance and the pulse of the holy house of Allah which make us feel and taste the tranquility as these spiritual atmosphere make us all eager to do Hajj (the fifth pillar of Islam) to be filled spiritually and be pleased.

That’s why, in this article we will tackle the main points that shall be known about Hajj which is knowing the difference between the three types of Hajj which are: Hajj Al-Ifrad, Hajj Al-Tamatt’u, and Hajj Al-Qiran.

1- Difference

Hajj Al-Ifrad

Here the pilgrim declares his intention for Hajj only via chanting “Labbayka Hajjan” “O Allah! I answer Your call to perform Hajj.”. The pilgrim shall perform Ihraam, Tawaaf, and Sa’y. The pilgrim shall be in the state of Ihraam until throwing the embers of Aqaba. Regarding the ritual of Sa’y, the pilgrim can perform it after Tawaaf of Ifaadah or delay to the Tawaaf in the tenth day. Also, there is no need for animal sacrifice in that type of Hajj.

Hajj Al-Tamatt’u

It means to perform Umrah during the season of Hajj. The pilgrim enters the state of Ihraam for Umrah and then exits it and entering it once again at the eighth of Dhu Al-Hijjah to perform Hajj. The pilgrim has to do a separate Tawaaf and a separate Sa’y for Hajj and Umrah separately. Here, the pilgrim has to sacrifice an animal.

Hajj Al-Qiran

It means that the pilgrim combines both Hajj and Umrah. Here, the pilgrim still in the state of Ihraam until finishing the whole rituals. The difference from Al-Tamatt’u Hajj, is that here the pilgrim has to perform only one Tawaaf and one Sa’y. Also, the pilgrim has to sacrifice an animal.

2- Days of Tashreeq

After leaving Arafat and heading to Muzdalifah, here comes the tenth day of Dhu Al-Hijjah in which the pilgrim go to Mina (before sunrise) to throw the embers of Aqaba, get rid of Ihraam, and do tawaaf. Then, the three days of Tashreeq starts (from 11 to 13 of Dhu Al-Hijjah) in which the pilgrim go to Mina and stay there then start the ritual of throwing the embers and the farewell Tawaaf.


The ritual of Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam that all Muslims look forward to performing it, as all Muslims wait for the month of Dhu Al-Hijjah to visit the holy house of Allah and stand over Arafat.